3 minute promise stand in an Avis rental locationYou may recall that a little while ago I wrote about the roll out of the 3 minute promise in France – a promise to our Avis Preferred members that they will be able to collect their hire car keys at the counter and go in less than 3 minutes. Well I am delighted to announce that this promise has now been rolled out to 400 locations across Europe including Paris Charles de Gaulle, Madrid and Zurich airports. It is also available at Heathrow, Birmingham, Glasgow and Edinburgh airports in the UK and will be coming to Gatwick, Stansted, Bristol and Manchester airports by the end of March.

Now reading some of the comments when we wrote about this last time, there was some concern that this would mean losing any kind of human contact. This initiative does not involve any kind of automated self-service kiosks that would replace our rental agents. It is simply a service guarantee that we make to all of our Avis Preferred members that they will be served within this timeframe. Each Avis Preferred member is given the opportunity to take a stopwatch so they can personally time how long it takes to be served. If we fail to fulfil our promise then we will provide a £20 John Lewis voucher as compensation (this is for UK rentals – the kind of vouchers will differ in other countries).

If you are not an Avis Preferred member and are interested in taking advantage of this service then you can sign up on our website.

VN:F [1.9.8_1114]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
m4s0n501
Click for the latest avis.co.uk offers

93 Responses to “Roll out of the Avis Preferred “3 minute promise””

  1. d r cutler Says:

    I look forward to this..it is certainly not happening at Munich airport….quicker (but not much) at the non preferred desks..only 25minutes!!

  2. Colin Brady Says:

    My one disatisfaction with Avis preferred is that I still need to queue and speak to an agent – as I always wish to reduce my insurance excess to £100, and prepay my fuel. So when i arrive at Heathrow, even if my name is on the Avis preferred board, and the car is waiting ready to go, I need to go inside to sort out those final details. No one in Avis has been able to explain to my why these things can not be made a part of the “profile” and prebooked.

  3. B M Heap Says:

    Looking forward to it as simplifies choice with [of your competitors] where fast service as No 1 Gold member only came at premium rates compared to Avis.

  4. Greg Packer Says:

    Last two rentals (both in Germany, but two different airports)was very impressed by this new service, very fast and efficient. Made us feel valued as preferred members.

  5. Colin Moody Says:

    Hi,

    Recently got around to joining Avis Preferred, having been an Avis man for many years (yes, I’m a bit slow on the uptake!). Really like the idea of the 3 min promise. When will you roll it out globally? Flying to Jo’burg next Thurs and using Preferred for the first time, so it will be interesting to see how much longer than the 3 mins it takes.

  6. Mike Whiston Says:

    Well I joined Avis Prefered before going into Miami Airport. It took Half an hour to que and three quarters of an hour to get my car (a total of one and a quarter hours)! I have written to the Commercial Director who put his name on the avis prefered letter when they sent me my AP card. After two weeks and extra charges off my credit card for a prepaid car in UK, I am still waiting for a reply! I have lost all confidence in Avis and think the Logo should be “we try harder to upset our customers”
    Think twice before taking Avis rental. If I do get a satisfactory reply I will Add again.

  7. Tom Davies Says:

    Why does your Prefered web site booking, come to a full stop (at the lat stage)after going through the whole procedure of on line filling in

    I rent at lest once a month and usually the online system works, but in recent months it has had numerou glitches

    “Sorry, there is a problem with your booking”

    “Due to technical problems we are unable to process your booking at this time”

  8. Stephen Spiers - Customer Service, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Mike,

    We received your letter last week and a reply from the Commercial Director has been posted earlier today.

    Hope this helps,

    Stephen

  9. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Thank you all for your great comments and feedback!

    D R, B M, Greg, thanks for the positive comments.

    Colin Brady – you can add the product to reduce your excess to your Avis Preferred rental profile so it automatically includes this in every rental. However, please note that the price and product (i.e. what the excess reduces to, any additional benefits) can differ by country. Unfortunately, you cannot yet make this update on the avis.co.uk website but you can ask for this to be added to your profile the next time you are at our Heathrow office.

    Fuel Up Front is not something you can currently added but it is a good suggestion and I will forward this feedback to the Product Development team. I have also spoken to the team at Heathrow who are looking at the possibility of putting a form in the Avis Preferred allocated cars. That way you can simply select the extras you want by filling in the form and hand it in at the security booth where it will be added to your rental.

    Colin Moody – the current roll out is focused on airports across Western Europe. I will post an update if and when I know of definitive plans to roll out in other countries.

    Mike – I am disappointed to read this. I have forwarded this to my colleague in Customer Support who is looking into this and will be in touch shortly.

    Tom – I sincerely apologise for the any difficulties you have experienced with our website. We are aware of some problems and are trying to resolve as a matter of urgency. If you are finding that you are unable to book then you could try our reservation centre on 08445 81 81 81.

    Once again, thank you all for your comments/feedback/questions. Please keep it coming!

    Rob

  10. Mike Whiston Says:

    Re blog 6 above

    To the Marketing team and Rob White.
    Thank you Rob for your letter received today 8th Apr. A very positive reply and conclusion from you, thanks. My confidence in Avis has returned. Will report back on my service in Vancouver next month. Thanks once again.
    Mike

  11. Neil Says:

    Use the Avis preffered at Edinburgh Airport weekly and have never recieved my keys in 3 minutes as generaly you have to que due to only one person dealing with customers. Rarely a long wait however.

    Un-recorded damage on 50% of the vehicles hired though has necessitated a return to the desk, this wastes alot more time.

  12. Ruth Says:

    I will be amazed if the 3min key
    pick up works at Stansted Airport. Last time I had a 7am
    pickup on a Saturday no-one was at the (locked) Avis Preferred Hut and the Night Shift had locked all the Avis Preferred Car Keys for the following day inside. The main desk weren’t aware that no-one was coming in to man the Hut on that Saturday and were sending
    Avis Preferred customers directly to a locked hut.
    And they had no key! Eventually
    after waiting an hour I got
    another vehicle allocated and
    £10 off the bill when I returned
    the vehicle because Avis Preferred was still unmanned.
    Sorry – not impressed.

  13. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Ruth, Neil, thank you for the feedback. I have passed this on to the teams at Edinburgh and Stansted who will be disappointed to read this and will undoubtedly take this feedback on board. The 3 minute promise is now available at Edinburgh airport and it will be available at Stansted by the end of the month. This is our committment to ensuring that our Avis Preferred members are served as quickly and efficiently as possible!

    Rob

  14. harold b Says:

    I use Nice airport for holidays. Had a disater a couple of years ago and complained. Now last time(October 2007)absolutely siperb Avis preferred lives up to its name.

  15. Colin Moody Says:

    Hi Rob,

    Just got back from South Africa. Whilst the 3 minute promise may not have reached them there, the Joburg team certainly had the keys in my hand inside 3 minutes….so Avis Preferred worked for me.

    Colin

  16. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    I’m glad you had a successful trip to Johannesburg Colin and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

    We hope to hear again from you soon.

    Rob

  17. Sue Porter Says:

    When will this 3 minute promise be offered at Luton Airport?

    Thanks

    Sue

  18. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Sue, the 3 minute promise was launched at Luton Airport only just this Wednesday gone (7th of May)!

    Rob

  19. Sue Porter Says:

    Thanks Rob, will report back this evening after trying the service out!!

    Regards

    Sue Porter

  20. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Excellent. I look forward to reading your report Sue! Have a great rental.

    Rob

  21. Nik B Says:

    Going through sign-up for Avis preferred it says to check avis.co.uk for preferred locations, but I can`t see how to.
    Specifically checking for Rome Ciampino, but will need it for future bookings also.
    Thanks, Nik.

  22. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Nik, I believe this is referring to the location pages on our website which can be searched by clicking on the “Find an Avis location” on the navigation along the top.

    Here is a direct link to the Rome Ciampino page: http://www.avis.co.uk/CarHire/Europe/Italy/Rome/Rome-Ciampino-Airport. On the page you’ll see a section along the right called ‘Services’. Under here it will list if it is an ‘Avis Preferred’ location. Currently the Avis Preferred service is not available at Ciampino Airport.

    Rob

  23. Nik B Says:

    Thanks very much, Rob. I had checked the Ciampino page, but seeing nothing there assumed there was a list elsewhere.
    Looking forward to a swift collection next month, will report back on return!
    Cheers, Nik.

  24. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Excellent. I look forward to hearing back from you. Have a great trip to Rome!

  25. Bill R Says:

    I have a question about the preferred service. I live in the USA where I am a preferred member. I’ll be renting a car from LHR this summer – does my preferred agreement with avis in the US work with Avis in the UK? Or would I need to sign up with Avis Europe at avis.co.uk? When I make a reservation online at avis.com my confirmation email says preferred status confirmed, but when I called customer service to confirm they informed me that there is no preferred service in the UK. Can one of the Avis guys / gals help? Many thanks. Bill.

  26. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Bill, yes we offer the Avis Preferred service at London Heathrow and you’re US membership will work fine there. When you get to Heathrow you’ll need to get on the Avis shuttle bus which will take a short distance to the main car rental centre. Outside the Avis building you will see an Avis Preferred board. Simply look up your name on the board to find out which bay your car is parked in. Then when you leave the car park you simply need to show your driver’s licence and the rental agreement at the security booth. From there you will be on your way!

    Rob

  27. Mike Whiston Says:

    Ref comment 6 and 10
    trip to Vancouver was excellent. staff at airport very helpfull. Guy who delivered car to reception really good. loaded lugagge and advised us on our forwrd trip as to best way to avoid rush hour traffic. Only problem on return of car was mistake made at pick up on prepaid voucher and wanted to charge credit card again. Took 15 minutes to confirm payment even though had all paperwork from uk with me.
    The car was first class except oil change warning came on every time car started, even at pick up. This must have been obvious by delivery and cleaning staff.

  28. Bill R Says:

    Thanks Rob. This blog is great, by the way. One other question – I’ll be renting in August – will the new A4 be in the fleet by then or will you have some of the oldder model? Thanks again. Bill.

  29. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Mike – great to hear from you again! Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I will forward on to the team in Vancouver.

    Hi Bill – no problem and thank you for the feedback also! The new Audi A4 autos are starting to come on to our fleet this month. However, it will take a while for them to be fully phased in and replace all of the current A4 model. In all honesty, it is more likely that you will receive the current A4 model than the new A4 model in August.

    Let me know if you have any other questions!

    Rob

  30. colin Brady Says:

    Re: Avis Preferred.
    I recently (5 Jun) arrived at Hrow, with a car booked via your website, I am a “Preferred” customer.
    At your office it took over 15 minutes to get the rental paperwork. I walked to the car (row F – the furthest possible from the office, not the closest as promised in the Preferred description), only to find there were no keys in the car. I then walked back to the office and the car was changed – to the same model in Row C ???? Total time to drive away – 25 minutes from arrival!!
    Again, I had to reconfirm that I want premier insurance and pre-paid fuel options, produce my driving licences as part of the pick-up process – what is the benefit of a “Preferred” scheme if i have to do this each time i rent?
    Also, whan making the booking, I saw an option to “pay now” which gave me a small discount over paying later – BUT it said that Preferred customers would need to pick up documents if they selected this option – why? I almost felt penalised as a Preferred customer.
    However, as a positive note – a few weeks ago i rented from a competitor to see a comparison. It took more than 30 mins to pick up the car, and 3 hours to get through on the phone to extend my rental – never again! I am coming back to Avis!

  31. Nik B Says:

    Quote:”Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK
    May 13th, 2008 at 11:45 am
    Hi Nik…At the moment Ciampino is not displaying that it offers the Avis Preferred service but I can assure you that it does…”
    Hi. At Ciampino there was no reference to Avis Preferred, with only 1 person on the desk I had to queue for 15 minutes, then go through the normal form-filling routine, which took another 5-10, despite my details coming up on screen when the Preferred card was swiped.
    I thought it might be too good to be true!
    Our return flight was cancelled,(baggage handlers crashed into the plane!!!) so I booked another car for 1 day(Apparently I couldn`t have the same one back as it was dirty.)Again, the standard procedure ensued, but I accept this was due to on-the-spot booking.
    That said, it was still quicker than the H***z desk both times!
    Nik.

  32. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Colin, usually picking up a car at Heathrow for Avis Preferred members is pretty straightforward as you simply need to look on the Avis Preferred board to find out which bay your car is parked in, and then get in the car, where the keys are waiting, and go (with a quick stop at the security booth to show your driver’s licence and pre-printed rental agreement on your way out). For some reason you clearly did not receive this level of service and I apologise for that. If you could email your rental agreement number to comments@avis.co.uk I can investigate why you did not receive the level of Avis Preferred service you were expecting.

    Rob

  33. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Nik, I have just double checked this information and you are correct, the Avis Preferred service is not available at Ciampino airport. I sincerely apologise if I have mis-managed your expectation in this respect. It was a misunderstanding between my colleague and I and I will ensure ny original comment above and the website is updated.

    In the meantime I will be in touch directly with you on this matter.

    Once again I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

    Rob

  34. Noel Jefferis Says:

    Hi

    When does the 3 minute scheme reach Pisa airport? I tend to rent there at least 5-6 times a year and so far they have served me well.

  35. EY Kalman Says:

    Is this service also available at Ben Gurion-Tel Aviv Avis station?
    I generally have had to wait at least 10 minutes for everything to be filled out, including having to argue about the car, as they generally do not have the car that I have reserved, and some agents will not give me a higher class instead.
    There was one occasion where it took almost 40 minutes until I was finally with my vehicle

  36. Phil G Says:

    Well, this is going to sound a bit mixed, but I really did want to say “Thanks” – mostly

    I just got back from a trip to the US which involved 3 Avis renatls, all with Preferred

    1. San Francisco. Car was waiting for me and the bus driver dropped me right at my car. Drop off was the ususal painless non-event. 95% – Thanks

    2. Chicago O’Hare. Car was waiting, but it was VERY smoky. Changed car at desk, but 2nd car had faulty remote locking keyfob. Changed car AGAIN, 3rd car was fine. Drop-off again excellent. 80% – Why was I allowed to be given a car that I couldn’t lock?

    3. Philadelphia. WOW. I booked an A-band car and was given at least a C (or maybe even a D) AND it only had 3 miles on the clock. Most impressive – until I dropped the car off. No-one available to receive the car. I waited 10 minutes to be dealt with by someone who obviously wanted to be somewhere else – very surly. Also, then had to wait another 10 minutes for the bus back to the airport. A possible 100% score ruined by the really bad drop-off arrangements – 75% (sorry)

    On the whole though, I would still rent Avis where I can – I’ve had MUCH worse experiences with other companies

    Phil G

  37. Ricahrd Best Says:

    At Frankfurt the computer was down so it took 15mins to get my car. Also, the “3 minute challenge” was not working becasue the computer was down.

    Is payment only valid in case of Avis meeting the deadline?

  38. Ricahrd Best Says:

    Every week at Frankfurt I am told I should have entered my flight number as my car is at terminal1 and not terminal 2. The Avis website will not accept my British Airways flight number (BA8732), try for yourself!!
    Luckily I use Avis so much the people on the desk recognise my name and usually change it to T2.
    That is good service. No thanks to Avis systems but thanks to Avis people.

  39. Malcolm Says:

    Can you point me in the direction where the list of all 400 participating offices can be found? It doesn’t appear to be readily available.

    Thank you

    Malcolm

  40. Geoff Jackson Says:

    I have had three car hires from Avis this year, 1 at Nice airport and 2 at Malaga airport using Avis Preferred. When I received the invoice for the third one it had increased by £50. I emailed customer services about this and was told I had selected Personal Accident Insurance in my profile which was not true as I am unable to change any insurance preferences online. I replied that if this was not refunded I would go to the small claims court, I then received a refund.
    A disadvantage of using Avis preferred is that I don’t have to sign anything when collecting the car therefore any “extras” that have been added on after booking are not noticed until the invoice is received.
    On the plus side, I have been using Avis in Europe for more than 10 years and have never had any problems until the last time.

  41. Isaac (Ike) Greenberg Says:

    We have rented a car from Orlando Airport and returned it to Tampa Airport (12/10 to 26/10 2008). Viviana Dallos at the desk was very good and efficient and made the experience of hiring a car from Avis extremely pleasant especially after a long and tiring flight from the UK. The whole experience greatly exceeded my expectations.
    Best regards
    Isaac (Ike) Greenberg

  42. Phil Mooney Says:

    It would mean more to me if the car was properly cleaned internally when picking it up!

  43. Stefan P Says:

    Avis @ Berlin Tegel: Thumbs up, brilliant service in June (within 3 minutes).

    Avis @ Gare Midi, Bruxelles: Thumbs up.

    Avis @ Bologna Airport: Thumbs down, total failure. Staff is rude, slow to respond, and totally ignore you when you’re standing at the Preferred counter.

    The only place where I ever have issued with Preferred, is Italy.

  44. Marek Matulka Says:

    3 minutes? maybe, but be careful!

    Recently I’ve rented a car at AVIS BCE Toronto, ON in Canada – I got my keys in less then 2 minutes. I was so excited, that I am going to see Niagara Falls that I forgot to check the car, tank was half full – but I’ve noticed that when I was already on the way. When I got back and mentioned that car wasn’t ready as described, a guy told me “have you signed? so it’s your lost”. He’s right, but – I had to sign to get my keys, before I have actually seen a car. I thought I was just getting keys. My lost. Also, Avis charged me extra for the gas, because tank wasn’t full.

    lest then 3 minutes – maybe – but on extra cost!

  45. Martin Wiltshire Says:

    I recently hired a car at Faro airport in Portugal and it was very efficient and took less than three minutes, but my name wasn’t shown on any board and the desk in the airport wasn’r very busy. I’ve got no complaints about the standard of service.

  46. Tony Dean Says:

    Recently hired from Tel Aviv, car available in good time but had to wait for third party provider to bring Sat Nav.

    Unfortunately car displayed a warning light requiring return to Avis office after about 40 miles driving. Response from Avis was good, didn’t charge me for fuel used and gave me a free upgrade too. Well done all round

  47. Marek Matulka Says:

    thank you for deleting my comment, that makes me think, that Avis does not really care about it’s customers.

    I don’t care about this extra £15 I had to pay for my car rental. What I am worried about is that I cannot trust you as a company – if I am a member of Preferred Scheme, I expect worry-free service, not rude employees who don’t care.

    Thank you,
    You have made my day.

  48. Ray Says:

    Does the 3 minute rule apply to cars booked through airmiles if I present my Preferred Avis card?

  49. Victoria Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Ray,
    Your booking made through Airmiles will be valid for the 3 Minute Promise provided all of your Avis Preferred details were supplied at time of booking and of course you are renting from a participating 3 Minute Promise location!
    Hope this helps,
    Victoria

  50. Victoria Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Richard,
    This is an issue that we are aware of and are working to fix. I am pleased that our colleagues in Frankfurt pick up your rental details and transfer your booking! If you are ever unsure, you can always follow up with a call to the local station to confirm your details.

    In regards to your second post, if you email me (comments@avis.co.uk) your Rental Agreement details for that particular rental and I will pass it on to our Customer Service department to investigate.
    Hope this helps,
    Victoria

  51. Victoria Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Phil G,
    Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate feedback on our rentals. I have passed this email on to our colleagues in the states and hopefully next time we will score 100%.
    Victoria

  52. Victoria Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Noel,
    Thanks for your feedback on the service at Pisa, unfortunately the 3 Minute Promise is not yet available in Italy. However we are continually adding locations that offer the service and will of course keep everyone updated of any new additions.
    Victoria

  53. Victoria Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Phil M,
    Sorry our car did not meet our usual high standards on this occasion, if you ever receive a dirty car again please tell us at the time of rental. It’s for our own good!
    Victoria

  54. Victoria Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Stefan,
    Thanks for your feed back on your rental and 3 minute promise experience, we love to hear how well we are doing.
    I have passed your feedback onto our team in Italy and hopefully we will improve for your next visit to Bologna!
    Victoria

  55. Victoria Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Marek,
    Due to a large influx of comments yesterday, your post has been in a queue ready for publishing and certainly not deleted as we value all of our customers feedback.
    I have passed details of your rental experience on to our customer service team who will respond directly to you in due course and hopefully restore your trust in Avis.
    Victoria

  56. Bill Dixon Says:

    Hello Avis Team
    Sorry I use you a lot as a Preferred Member. In the Middle East I guess you operate under franchises. At Dubai Airport office they ‘try harder’ and given the testing environment I have little to be unhappy about but in Doha I have hired twice in the last month and I have never come across a more surly, unkempt and frankly dispicable gentleman in the service industry. He sniffs and snuffles his way through any transaction, will not say please or thank you, will not stand up from behind the counter unless really dire, treats two assistants in a manner you would not appreciate and wouldn’t know a deadline if it had a huge red sheet flying in front of him. Having worked in around the Middle East for 16 years I well understand how difficult it is to get consistency but some basics need to be taught to this fellow before he upsets any more of your customers, who generally don’t have time or energy to argue with him. The cars and the service itself are great ! thanks, I needed to tell you that. I would recommend the employment of a nationality who understands what service means. Many others in Qatar would give their eye teeth to have such a role.
    Bill D.

  57. Andrew Says:

    Can you confirm the 3-minute promise is offered at Bremen airport in Germany?

    Also, can you advise me if you have many Mercedes C-Class on the German fleet. I would prefer to drive a MB C-Class than a BMW 3-series (juast for a change). Are there more MB C-Class automatics, and more BMW 3er & Audi A4 as manuals, or is it not as simple as that?

  58. J Walker Says:

    I’ve been renting from Avis as a Preferred customer for years and I’ve found that the service offered to preferred customers has reduced considerably in the last couple of years. I used to be able to collect my car from a preferred space but the last few times I’ve been allocated a car parked in the back corner of the car park. I have to request the additional insurance waiver when I reach the checkin desk which makes 3 minutes an impossibility. I can’t specify this at the time of booking. I’ve also found the condition of the cars has deteriorated. I’m now looking at other firms instead.

  59. rupert cornes Says:

    we waited for ages at Gibraltar Airport for someone to turn up so that we could collect our car. Then told we had an upgrade very good but the car was very dirty and when we tried to wash the screen there was no screen wash! NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE. Avis you let us down again!

  60. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Hi Rupert,

    I’m sorry to hear about your experience. Can you send me the details of your hire (including rental agreement number) to comments@avis.co.uk and I will investigate for you.

    Stephen

  61. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Hi Geoff,

    It’s great to hear that you’ve been using our service for so long and everything has run smoothly. Also, I’m sorry to hear we weren’t as good the last time you rented.

    You should be able to view and change your preferences on the Preferred scheme at http://www.avis.co.uk with either the “create account” or “sign in” options on the home page.

    Hope this helps,

    Stephen

  62. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Malcolm,

    Thanks for the feedback. It’s not something that anyone has asked for before so I’ve passed your comment to the 3 minute promise team at our European Head Office.

    Keep watching the website for further updates.

    Regards,

    Stephen

  63. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Hi Bill Dixon,

    It’s always good to hear about great service that customers have received but equally disappointing to hear about unsatisfactory service.

    I have forwarded your comments to the teams in the relevant countries to pass on the feedback.

    Stephen

  64. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Hi J Walker,

    I’m sorry that you feel our service has deteriorated in recent times. Could you send me details of which locations ytou are referring to so we can address any items with the local teams?

    Thanks,

    Stephen

  65. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Hi EY Kalman,

    Unfortunately, the 3 minute promise is a European initiative and has not been rolled out in Israel.

    However, I have passed your feedback to the team in Israel to address with the team at the location in question.

    Stephen

  66. Geoff Jackson Says:

    Hello Stephen
    Thanks for your reply, however I think that you are wrong when you say I can change my insurance preferences on the avis web site. Try it and you will see! I can change name, address credit card etc but not insurance extras. I have already discussed this via email with Anna Eross from Avis but I have not had an explanation of why personal accident insurance was added to my profile without me knowing and not finding out until I received my invoice.

    Geoff.

  67. Chris Cox - Avis UK Reservations Says:

    Hi Andrew,

    The Avis office at Bremen airport does offer the 3 minute promise and does indeed have the Mercedes C Class in its fleet. They have it in a manual in what we call a group E and as an automatic in a group G. The only problem is that we can only guarantee the car group, not a particular car. Reserving the group E for example would mean that you could get a Mercedes C Class, a BMW 320 or something else of a similar calibre. You could express a preference for the Merc but unfortunately it would not be guaranteed.

    To guarantee a Merc, you could reserve one of our “Fun and Luxury” cars which we do have at Bremen, however they are the Merc CLS, CL500 or the S Class.

    I hope that helps and if you need any further help please feel free to write back or call our reservations team on 08445 81 81 81.

    Chris

  68. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Hi Geoff,

    My apologies, I misunderstood and gave the incorrect information. You can change all personal details on the website but preferences can be changed by calling the Avis Preferred Customer Service line on 08445 81 82 83. Changing preferences on-line is something we hope to offer in the future.

    In the meantime, I have amended your profile to ensure that Personal Accident Insurance has been removed from future rentals. I hope this resolves the issue.

    Stephen

  69. Timour El-Husseini Says:

    Two months ago, I had a delay in London (LHR); about 11 minutes waiting infront of this notice. I asked for my 20 pounds, but I got a better thing. An upgrade from Merc C180 to Merc E220. That was a serious compensation.

  70. andrew goodman Says:

    It should be made clear that the 3Mins doesnt apply to all Avis sites. I regularly fly to Palermo or Trapanni. You always wait longer than 3 mins at Trapanni as there are not enough staff and the cars never clean. I never have problems with Palermo though.

  71. andrew goodman Says:

    Upgrades do seem best compensation. I would never get round to claiming vouchers!

  72. Caroline Stevens Says:

    Does the 3 minute promise operate at Nice Airport? I want to rent a family car for 5 people next August and I hear the queues can be around 2 hours and I don’t fancy that with 3 bored kids! Also, if I hire car seats are they of a good quality? I have heard horror stories and do not want to turn up and find they are unsuitable!

  73. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Hi Andrew,

    I apologise if we have caused any confusion. The 3 Minute promise is only available at 500 key worldwide locations at the moment, but this does not cover every location in Europe.

    I have passed your feedback to our Marketing department to see if they can ensure that this message is communicated in a clearer fashion in future.

    Regards,

    Stephen

  74. Stephen Spiers - Avis UK Customer Services Says:

    Hi Caroline,

    Nice Airport does offer the 3 Minute Promise for Avis Preferred members.

    With regards to car seats, Avis use approved suppliers (in the UK, we use Britax), the seats are replaced on a regular basis and are provided with washable covers. The other alternative (which might be tricky with three children) is to take your own.

    Hope this helps,

    Stephen

  75. Brian Porter Says:

    Having successfully tried and tested the 3 minute promise in the UK. Please can you advise if this service is up and running at Hanover Airport, Germany? Also can payment be made with Visa Delta at this location?

  76. Stephen Spiers Says:

    Hi Brian,

    The 3 Minute Promise service is available at Hannover Airport in Germany. Also, they will accept Visa Delta (the only Visa they do not accept is Electron).

    Hope this helps,

    Stephen

  77. John Bamford Says:

    I’m travelling to Rome (Ciampino airport pick-up) in the middle of next month with the family. I am an AP member, but note from the web-site that Ciampino is not!
    Our flight, which is noted on the booking, is due in at 21:40 and I’m worried that any delay will mean missing the closing time of your office. What will happen in this case, please?

  78. Chris Cox - Reservations, Avis UK Says:

    Hi John,

    As your flight is due to land within office hours and you have the flight number in the booking then the office will wait for you in the event of any delay. This is why it’s very important to always include your flight number in any airport reservations.
    I hope that helps and that you aren’t delayed as well!
    Chris

  79. Kirsty Dyson Says:

    I am heading to Miami airport and after an appaling 60 min wait in Feb i decided to join avis prefered to avoid the wait.
    It will however be the first time we have used the service…so a few questions:
    Does MIA location offer the 3 minute promise?
    Will i have to queue with everyone else to show my documents as this is my first time (this would rather defeat the object of avoiding the massive wait)
    I have read nothing but poor reports of Miami – and my past expereince mirrored this. Is it getting better?

  80. Chris Cox - Reservations, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Kirsty,

    I’ve never been to Miami so I’m afraid I cannot comment from experience only instead what the office has told me. They don’t offer the 3 minute promise I’m afraid but they do have a Preferred desk which you can go directly to.
    They’ve said that there is a shuttle bus from the terminal direct to the Avis office and the car park where your car will be waiting. They added that you won’t have to sign anything but will have to show your licence as per standard practise.
    I hope it turns out a fast and pleasant experience but please let me know how it goes.
    Chris

  81. Rich Alderton Says:

    Hi

    I have a couple of questions about Avis Preferred, which I’ve just joined.

    1. My credit card gives me excellent insurance, so I’ve set my Preferred profile to decline Damage & Theft Cover. But I’m only covered when on ‘a trip’ so I *do* need this insurance included when renting from my home location (Newcastle). Am I right in thinking that all rates in the UK include insurance, whatever my profile says?

    2. I have my first rental coming up this week in the US, so I’ll need to get my Preferred membership validated and a master agreement signed etc. Can I stop by the desk at Newcastle (where I don’t have a rental) and get this done so that I get Preferred service in Jersey City?

    Thanks for your help.

  82. Chris Cox - Reservations, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Rich,

    Generally all rates include the damage and theft cover however if you have set your account to reject them then your profile might force the system to remove them. Do you plan to book online or via central reservations? Either way you will be clearly told whether the CDW and TP are included or not. If you want to email me your Preferred number to comments@avis.co.uk then I’ll have a look for you.

    With regards to signing the MRA then yes you can stop by and check all the details at your local office.

    Enjoy your trip

    Chris

  83. Rob White- Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    By the way, just to clarify Rich, when Chris says the MRA, he is talking about the master agreement you are referring to! :)

    Rob

  84. Brendan Dunphy Says:

    Your web site is a complete dogs breakfast; how on earth do I amend my Avis Preffered profile? Please send a link….

  85. Sara Bergamo, Marketing UK Says:

    Hi Brendan,

    to be able to change your Preferred account online, first of all you’ll need to create an online account.

    Here’s the link: https://www.avis.co.uk/secure/WizardRegister.aspx

    Once that’s done, just sign using your online account log-in details, and you’ll be able to modify your profile.

    Please let us know if you need any further help.

    Thanks
    Sara

  86. Brendan Dunphy Says:

    Thanks for your prompt response Sara. I now have access but I can’t see where to change insurance options; I get charged £5+ extra a day on rentals and I vaguely re-call selecting an insurance option some time back but I don’t re-call where – any ideas? Best, Brendan.

  87. Sara Bergamo, Marketing UK Says:

    Hi Brendan,

    unfortunately the insurance options linked to your Preferred profile cannot be currently visualised or modified online (but we are working on it!). Best thing to do is contact our Preferred team and they’ll be able to help.

    To contact the Preferred team, please follow the this link: http://www.avis.co.uk/CustomerService then click on Contact Avis and select “Wizard/Preferred enquiries” from the “type of question” drop-down menu.

    Hope this helps
    Sara

  88. Robert Says:

    Hi,

    After my experience at the LHR office in the past week, all I can say is this promise is somewhat lacking…

    I had 3 different rentals from the LHR branch in the past couple of weeks, all select series cars, all pre paid.
    First rental was fine, got a different car to that booked which I was surprised about (being that I booked a select series) but no complaints since I was more than happy with the car I got.
    Second rental was last week and when got off the shuttle my name wasn’t on the board which was annoying as I was running a little late as it is.
    Went inside and there were around 5-6 agents behind the desk all serving other customers.
    Then I noticed the 3 minute promise notice (which I knew about but forgot about as well since I don’t usually have to go in to get the keys) so went to get a stopwatch only to discover that you can’t actually remove them from the box which makes them pointless.
    It is very evident that they are meant to be taken out of the box as they have straps but they are all locked so not possible.
    I waited for 10 minutes to be served and when I mentioned this to the agent he muttered something which I couldn’t understand.
    Apparently the reason my name wasn’t on the board was they had trouble processing the card, though they was no reason for this, I had used the card several times that day and fact is as soon as I gave it to him he processed the payment with no issues what so ever.
    To cut a long story short it took 20 minutes to get the keys and go and no £20 voucher was offered to me.
    Car was great (DS3) but unacceptably dirty.
    Yesterday I was back to pick up another car, once again my name isn’t on the board, so I go in and this time there is just one agent behind the desk already serving someone.
    I try removing a stopwatch but once again to no avail.
    Agent finally finished with other customer (might have been sooner has he not been questioning them about their occupation…) cannot find booking so got someone else involved who found it after 3-4 minutes (why it could not be found I do not know – fact is I had the confirmation email in front of me) it was found.
    I was then asked whether it was the Peugeot RCZ I actually wanted which was a strange question since that is what I booked and if I didn’t want that why would I have booked it?
    Anyway, my contract was finally printed and agent handed it to me saying “ car is in bay A18”, that’s it, no apology for the time wasted, no apology for not being able to find my booking, nothing, and I was in there for 25 minutes!
    Car was once again unacceptably dirty (including water marks all over it and bird droppings) and the fuel showing around 85% full rather than 100% as marked on the papers.
    I went back to the office to notify them of this but by that time it had got so busy and I was so late and fed up that I really did not have the time to stand and wait once again so I took the car and left.
    It takes really bad service for me to complain about Avis, and I have always had nothing but excellent service at the LHR branch, but I these rentals were my first in a while (at LHR) and if this is now the standard there I think I may look at other alternatives.

    No way to treat a Preferred customer, and certainly not the way to treat a president Club member.

  89. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Robert,

    Thank you for your comments and I am extremely sorry to hear that our service has not been up to scratch. We have taken your feedback onboard and I have passed it on to the relevant teams to pick up and look into.

    You mentioned that it took the team over 3 minutes to get you your keys, even though you are an Avis Preferred member, so please can you email me at the normal address – comments@avis.co.uk – with your rental agreement numbers so we can honour the 3 minute promise by sending you your vouchers and investigate further the service you have received.

    I want to apologise again for the frustration that this has caused, but also want to thank you for providing us with your feedback as we cannot improve without the customer letting us know what areas we need to focus on.

    If there is anything else you want to let us know about your rentals please put it in your email to me with your rental agreement numbers.

    Vicki

  90. Robert Says:

    Vicki,

    Can you please confirm you received the two emails I sent well over a week ago following your request above?

    I’m finding it extremely disappointed that after years of hiring from you guys exclusively and making sure the rest of my team do the same, never mind the support I have given this Blog from day one, I now discover that when I do need some customer service as a result of some issues I had, I find it extremely lacking and none responsive.

    Some sort of acknowledgment that my emailed were received would be a good start.

    Thanks
    Robert

  91. Robert Says:

    P.S Apologies for the typos above (posting from a mobile…)

  92. Sara - Marketing Says:

    Hi Robert,

    I’m really sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

    I’ve looked into your case and sent you an email with some more details.

    Hope this helps
    Sara

  93. Roley Says:

    All i can say is go Avis Preferred.

    Arrived at Boston airport back in October 2013 & it took over 2 hours to get through customs (standard in us!).
    The 3 min promise was just what we needed & just what we got & an upgrade to a large SUV to boot. Delighted as we were giving our engaged friends, now married a lift to their wedding, alot of suitcaces, dresses etc.

    Thanks again for a fantastic service.

    Roley

Leave a Comment

 

WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing


Please note:

The details of all blog posts are correct at the time of publication. Information and offers are subject to change without prior notice. Please check www.avis.co.uk for the most up-to-date information.

All comments will be moderated so there may be a delay in your comment going live. We will filter out anything that is confidential, inappropriate, abusive, defamatory, profane, or anything considered as spam or an advertising link. We promise not to cut something just because it's not favourable to Avis.

We ask that if your feedback is regarding a past rental, you include your reservation details (which will be removed from the live post). If your comment is a customer service issue, you can email customer.service@avis.co.uk .
book a car

Why we love to blog

At Avis, we really do try harder. We pioneered blogging in the car rental world and we aim to make our blog much more than just an information source. You can use our blog to ask questions or tell us what’s important to you when you hire a car. We try harder because we care what you think, so we really do value your feedback.

New to car rentals? Our blog gives you tips and advice on getting the most out of your Avis car hire experience. You can find information about booking and hiring your car, safety tips, and eco driving. We also provide driving advice and the latest news about our fleet.

We understand that hiring a car is just one part of your trip, so our blog covers other aspects of holiday and business travel too. Whether you want to know more about business travel hire conditions, access to location and city guides or ideas for families travelling with children, it’s all here.

But that’s just a taster – find out more about the Avis blog.