WebsiteWe are very excited to introduce the new Avis Rent a Car website. If you have visited the Avis website before, the first thing you’ll notice when you land on the car rental homepage, is the new, fresher look with a cleaner top menu to help you navigate your way around the sections of the website. But this is just the start!

The main improvement is without a doubt, the leaner and faster booking process. We’ve reduced the number of steps needed to rent a car to four and refreshed each of the four pages to give you more information, easier navigation and ultimately make your selection easier.

Now all you’ll have to do is:
1) Select your dates/rental station
2) Choose your car group
3) Select your preferred payment option and add any extras you may need (GPS, child seat etc)
4) Enter your details

And in less than 5 minutes your booking is done!

And you’ll now find your personal account sign-in and account summary on every page so you can sign in anytime you like without going back to the homepage .

We would love to hear what you think of the new website, and of course if you have any suggestion on how we can still improve it please let us know.

VN:F [1.9.8_1114]
Rating: 1.0/10 (1 vote cast)
Introducing the NEW website!, 1.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating
Click for the latest offers

50 Responses to “Introducing the NEW website!”

  1. JL Says:

    Hi, I’ve been trying to use the website to book a rental an it doesn’t work.

    I’ve used the old site to book a car for almost every weekend for the past year and a half. Now I can’t book online and because I am not in the UK I can’t call the free phone numbers.

    I get to the last stage of booking after entering card details and hit confirm and on IE it comes up with an error at the bottom and in Firefox is just stays on that page.

    This is whilst logged in with my Avis Preferred card.

  2. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi JL,

    I have passed your comment onto our web team to look into. If you could email me at with the details of the rental that you are trying to book, your Avis Preferred number and any more details about the error that you are experiencing, I will look into this for you and will get some to contact you to help make your booking.


  3. Robert Says:

    Hi Vicki,

    Congratulations on the new website, but I have to say I’m finding it painfully slow to load and very slow to perform.

    Teething problems I guess, and I’m sure you guys will sort this out sooner rather than later.


  4. Robert Says:

    Just to add something on a slightly different note…

    Any news at all on an iPhone application for avis UK? has had an app out for a while now, but it is of no use unless you are renting in the USA, and in fact you cannot find it in the UK app store.
    Why they cannot make it a global app same as the actually website is beyond me.

    Considering all your major competitors now offer a UK app, would be nice to see one from you guys too.


  5. WJF Says:

    Why do you not advise at the time of booking the the excess waiver insurance costs. These are a large part of the rental costs these days, and for cost cpmparison should be available before booking.


  6. Peter Says:

    Similarly to above I am unable to progess my booking online, despite doing so in the past. I’m trying to book and pay in advance for the UK but strike the error message before the confirmation page. I’m booking from NZ.Any advice appreciated.

  7. Reef Says:

    Well done….the site is looks a lot cleaner and fresher, (though I havent had to make a booking as yet)

    Not sure why the reduction of excess fee is not available online like your competitor, because when at the counter I have had to mention it a number of times.

    Also really like the select series idea.

    Ill be giving feedback after picking it up for the weekend.

  8. RPED Says:

    Utterly confusing – User experience very poor. Had to guess my way around the site to do a booking. The expectation is that you can click on the step processes and you can’t. If your UK prices were higher cost, I would have taken my business elsewhere.

  9. Reef Says:

    Also agreed on the app comment by Robert, [A Competitor] have the app and offer 10% off your booking if you book through the app.

    Also Park Royal Branch are awful in answering the telephone, it just rings and rings and unwilling to stay past 18:00, unlike your competitor at Park Royal who will call you to see if you are on your way and stay back if you running a little late and say it not an issue.

  10. Sara Bergamo Says:

    Hi Robert,

    First, thanks a lot for your feedback on the new website. With regards to your first comment, I totally agree that when we first launched, the website wasn’t as quick as it could have been, especially on certain browsers. Our IT team has already put some fixes and we’ve already seen a considerable improvement.

    But this is very much a work in process and we are still working on increasing the speed and performance.

    With regards to your second question, we are currently working on a number of exciting new projects, and although at this stage I can’t share more details, all I can say watch this space!

  11. Terry Hart Says:

    Tried to book 27 august to September 4th 2010 – pick up at Exeter St Davids Station and drop off at Exeter Airport and having selected locations went to Get Quote – No response on either Explorer or Firefox, so going to look at [A competitors] 50% discount offer which quite frankly I just don’t believe !

    Good luck sorting out the glitches.


  12. John Gray Says:

    I have used your old site and all worked well, I am today trying to obtain a quote for car rental in France and it is not responding after I have filled in all details… any advice please

  13. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Terry and John,

    Thank you for your comments and feedback on the new website.

    If you could email me at with the details of the booking you are trying to make and the issues you are experiencing, I will:

    1) Get one of our reservation agents to help you make your booking.

    2) Pass your feedback onto our web team to look into the issue.

    Thanks again for your comments and please let me know if you had any other questions.


  14. Reef Says:

    So classic of these companies when they are about to lose a sale they bend over backwards, yet they have failed to address any of my comment I have made earlier… much for “trying harder”

  15. Nick Says:

    What a waste of time and money. The new website does not load properly and is totally unresponsive.

  16. Rick Humble Says:

    I wonder if the new website makes any difference to Avis’s total disregard to my many requests for feedback to my overcharged trip whilst in South Africa last year. Several complaints about the extra charge to my credit card and no feedback – won’t be using your services again even if new website.

  17. Rick Humble Says:

    I wonder if the new website makes any difference to Avis’s total disregard to my many requests for feedback to my overcharged trip whilst in South Africa last year. Several complaints about the extra charge to my credit card and no feedback – won’t be using your services again even if new website.

  18. mendelmiller Says:

    Not only does the new web site not work,it is impossible to speak to anyone who knows what is happening.
    An irritating waste of everybody’s time.!!

  19. Sara Bergamo, Avis UK Says:

    Hi WJF,

    first thank you for taking the time to feedback on the new website. The excess for each car group is indicated on the third step of the booking process, in a section called “Check list” where you will find all the information about the car group you’ve selected.

    If you are renting in the UK, information about excess is also available on our UK fleet guide (

    Also information on how to purchase extra insurance and reduce your excess can be found in here .

    Hope this helps but please let me know if you need any more assistance.

  20. Sara Bergamo, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Reef,

    First of all, I’m sorry I wasn’t able to post a reply to your posts yesterday. Following the launch of the new website we’ve received quite a lot of feedback both on the blog and via email and I’m trying to address each query individually which could take a bit of time.

    Now, to answer your question, information about excess is available before booking on the “Check list” at the end of booking step 3. It’s also available on the UK fleet guide at the following address .

    With regards to the iPhone App, as already mentioned to Robert, there are some exciting new project we are working on at the moment. Can’t say more at the moment but watch this space for more announcements soon.

    Finally, sorry about the issues you had in contacting Park Royal, we will pass on your comment to the Station Manager there. Not sure if it can be useful but if you wish to hire a car on the phone you can contact our generic call centre on 08445 81 81 81.

    I’m glad that overall you like the new website and if you have the chance to make a booking, I’d love to hear your feedback on the booking process.

    Hope this helps but as usual if you have any other query or comment let us know.

    Thanks again

  21. Sara Bergamo, Avis UK Says:

    Hi RPED,

    Sorry you feel this way about the website. I’m well aware that we all have different ways to navigate a website and that no matter how many people test it before the launch, is the individual customer experience that counts.

    If you have the time and would like to let us know where did you find the website confusing and or if there’s anything you would suggest could improve the user experience I will be more than happy to look into it. You can either use this forum or our email me at

    Many thanks

  22. Sara Bergamo, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Nick,
    I’m sorry you had issues with the website. I know few people commented on the fact that they’ve experienced issues with the speed of the website, particularly on certain browsers. Our IT team is looking into it as a top priority and hopefully this will be fixed very soon.

    Many thanks for taking the time to send your feedback

  23. Sara Bergamo, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Peter,

    Sorry you had problems in using the website. If you could email us all details about the booking you were about to make at one of our agents will be in touch and assist you with the reservation whilst our IT team will be looking at the issue.
    Hope to hear from you
    Many thanks

  24. Vincent O'Connor Says:

    Finding new website as cumbersome as the previous one and will probably find again when I arrive at Belfast International on Tuesday 6 that my Avis Preferred details have not been picked up. Presuming this will be the case, this will be the third time in about six weeks that I will arrive at Belfast and not enjoy the supposed benefits of Avis Preferred. It’s a shame because your collection and redelivery team out by the cars at Belfast International is excellent.

  25. Scott Says:

    I found bits of the new website unnecessarily confusing. There’s a section on ‘Pricing and Optional Extras’ which says ‘Pay Now or Pay On Return?’, but my AWD only offered one option and the screen didn’t say which it was. So I looked at the Price and Extras total which said ‘To Pay at Station’ (is a “station” the same as a rental location? Unless I’m buying a train ticket?). When I looked up the Terms & Conditions it doesn’t mention either ‘Pay on Return’ or ‘Pay at Station’, only ‘Pay Now’ or ‘Pay Later’. So I’m guessing ‘Pay Later’, ‘Pay on Return’ and ‘Pay at Station’ are all the same thing, but if I were new to Avis I’d be confused. If your T&Cs call it ‘Pay Later’ then that’s what you should call it on the booking screens too.

    And the new website is still slow. On the plus side, it looks quite nice.

  26. Reef Says:

    Hi Sara,

    I think you misunderstood my point on the excess…[A Competitor] give you the option to reduce the excess i.e. from £500 to £75 if you pay an additional fee which can be done online. With Avis this can only be done at the counter.

    There are major problems with your site, I wanted to make a booking for West Brompton, I cannot even move to the next page. This is not a good look for your company at all.

    Not sure why you you did not run the beta version first along side the old perfectly working version.

  27. Vicki Wilson - Avis UK Says:

    Hi Vincent,

    Thank you for your comment and I am sorry to hear that you are not impressed with our new website. If you are happy to let us know why we will happily pass this feedback on to our web team.

    In regards to your rentals at our location in Belfast if you email me at with the rental agreement numbers of the rentals you have had problems with in the past and the issues I will look into these for you. Also if you can send me your Preferred number I will make sure everything has been set up correctly.

    If you have any other questions please let mw know.


  28. Sara -Avis UK Says:

    Hi Reef,

    Sorry I misunderstood your comment. I totally agree with you, that giving customers the option to reduce their excess online would be a great feature add to the website. Actually this is something we are already looking into and although this is not going to be a short term implementation, we are definitely working on it.

    With regards to the problem with the website if you want to drop me your booking details in an email at I will be happy to look into it.


  29. Sara -Avis UK Says:

    Hi Scott,

    you made a very good point about the resource text not being consistent at time.

    We will go through this again and make the necessary changes where appropriate.

    On the issue of speed, the IT team are looking into all the complaints made and are working on improving it.

    Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback.


  30. Denise Plumpton Says:

    I wouldn’t ever bother trying to book a car online with Avis again after the disaster I have had this year. They happily took my booking for a car to be collected by me in Lassi, Kefalonia and took the money from my credit card at the time of booking. On arrival in Kefalonia, I found the office closed down. I tracked them down to the airport and then they decided that they had no evidence I had paid so took the payment for a second time on the day I collected the car. After six weeks of persistent calls, they have begrudgingly said they will “try” to refund in the next 7 working days. Try Harder? Yes, to extract money from their customers.

    And don’t even get me started on the charges should you have the temerity to damage the car.

  31. Vicki Wilson - Avis UK Says:

    Hi Denise,

    I am sorry to hear of your frustrations with Avis.

    Please can you email me at with your rental agreement number and the details of your rental, so I can look into this for you and find out why this happened.

    If you have any other questions please let me know.


  32. Reef Says:

    As suspected not been able to buy the excess online caused a delayed. Think it was almost 30 minutes before I was able to drive off, the guy went away twice to check something, and then was on the computer doing god knows what.

    Plus in only through looking at the mouse mat on the counter you also see the benefits of taking the excess free additional driver, medical cover etc.

    I got to Heathrow for around 11.30pm and was ringing the phone for the pick up about 3-4 times it was maybe a good hour before pick. This needs to be made very clear on the site that rentals after a certain time will be subjected to a waiting time, and they are no clear signs of this at the pick up point.
    When getting to the rental desk I was told the price has increase because it was the 3rd of July and not the 2nd of July, I said how can that be if it prepaid not pay later? He said the rates change everyday. I said how can that be if you have taken my money 1 month in advance. He said he will ask his supervisor and call me in the morning…….there was no call.

    These features being online we allow us to make better informed decision, without the confusion from counter staff.

    With [a competitor] it so simple you do everything online within 5 mins your off.

    These fuel prepaid options should be available online, because the guy behind the counter did not didn’t explain the option clearly explaining that the vat is added after, only when he printed the invoice I pulled him up on this, he said oh yeah vat is added.

    On a good note on returning the car the person the refunded the difference.

    The car rental was great, the service took away from that experience.

  33. Darren Peacock - Avis UK Says:

    Hi Reef

    Thank you for your post, we are always interested to hear about our customers experience to help improve our service in the future.

    Adding excess reduction to a rental should be a simple procedure and should not add any time to the rental process, so I apologise for any delay on this occasion. With regards to the increase in rate the reason this occurred will be because your rental was for the 2nd of July but you arrived on the 3rd July, this means that we would have to create a new reservation for you, we work in the same way as an airline or hotel, the dates are not flexible as we have to manage our fleet, this would also explain your 30 minute wait as they would have had to amend the reservation.

    I have passed your comments to the location manager about the problems you had with contacting the station for the shuttle bus.


    Darren Peacock

  34. mark Says:

    I am not at all impressed with the new look web site.
    Why don’t I get a chance to enter my Wizard number until the end, it has my AWB number attached which affects my car choice.
    I was confirmed a Prestige car which wasn’t available on the at my destination, a down grade was offered but at an increased price, so really the web site desn’t work.
    over the years making a booking has been more and more difficult

  35. Vero Pepperrell Says:

    New website or not, the customer service behind the scenes is still absolutely shocking.

    We have now complained three times with regards to a car rental we have been overcharged for on May 31st and have not received any more than the automated acknowledgement that “we’ll hear back within 15 business days”.

    As a community manager myself, I’m all for nice friendly relationships with users via a blog, but it doesn’t replace the basic customer service a company should offer. Avis fails at this very basic task.

    At this point in time, we’re giving up on getting an answer from Avis and going directly to the BVRLA, the regulatory body for car leasing.

    Too disappointed to book with Avis again,

  36. Nigel Harrison Says:

    Tried for days to book a car on your new web site, i’m a preferred customer and all my details fill automatically but when I try to confirm pay now booking nothing happens, it’s rubbish. Never had this problem with your old site. I’m booking from overseas and do not want to have to call to book, time to look at alternatives I guess.

  37. Michael O'Donnell- Reservations, UK Says:

    Hello Mr.Harrison,

    We are constantly trying to improve the new website and would appreciate your help in doing this. Is it possible you can e-mail us your contact details(email or mobile) to We will have someone contact you to help make a booking and also we will try to find out where the problem is in regard to booking. Hopefully then for the next time you use it you will have no problems.

    Look forward to hearing from you.



  38. Vicki Wilson - Avis UK Says:

    Hi Mark,

    As per Micheal’s comment above, we are always looking to develop our website to make it more user friendly, but we are also always looking to fix any problems that occur.

    Please can you email me at with your rental agreement number, the car you booked and any details of your rental, so I can look into this for you.


  39. Vicki Wilson - Avis UK Says:

    Hi Vero,

    Thanks for your comment and you email.

    I have passed your email on to our customer service team to follow up and someone should be in touch with you soon.

    Kind Regards

  40. Nike Says:

    I find the website slow and error prone. I have just spent 15 minutes unsucessfully trying to set up an online account to link to my Preferred Card . Its slow and keeps refusing to accept my credit card details, saying they match someone else? I am at my wits end – you guys have the best cars …… but this website!! Can you do it for me please?

  41. Michael O'Donnell- Reservations, UK Says:

    Hello Nike,

    We are trying to sort out your account for you. In the meantime is it possible you can e-mail us your contact details(email or mobile) to We will have someone contact you to help make a booking.

    Best Regards,


  42. Sara Bergamo - Marketing, UK Says:

    Hi Nike,

    sorry about the problems you’ve had with the website. We are aware of the speed issue and our IT team is working on a number of new fixes which will be released in the next weeks.

    With regards to the second issue, to help us pinpoint what the problem is, could you confirm whether you used the normal sign up form (the form you get when you click on create an account) or if, after getting to the “crteate an account page” you clicked on the link called “If you have an Avis car, click here”?

    If you prefer, you can contact us directly at

    many thanks

  43. Bill Kennerley Says:

    I would also like to echo the comments of Vero (34). Response to anything routed via the web site, old or new, is a disgrace. I have been waiting since early May for a response to an overcharging claim for a hire in Malaysia during February.
    I am not using Avis until they do respond and consequently they have lost a fair bit of business so far this year.

    Bill Kennerley

  44. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Bill,

    I am sorry to hear of your frustration with Avis.

    If you email me at with your rental agreement number and the details of your complaint I will look into your issue and follow it up.


  45. Bill Kennerley Says:

    Well folks, I responded to Vicki on September 3rd. and guess what, I’m still waiting!!

  46. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Bill,

    I am sorry to hear that you have not had any response at all from our customer service team. I have picked up your case with them and someone should have contacted you by now.

    There is no excuse for this, so I will be chasing again to get you a response.


  47. Shan Says:

    I think mine will be one of the shortest Preferred memberships you will have set up. All I have asked for is email confirmation of two things – one is that I have the additional free driver and the other that you confirm that I have zero excess for my rental. Neither of these are mentioned in the email confirmation that you send. I am amazed that something so simple has either been ignored or has been so difficult for you to carry out that none of the 3 people I have spoken to over the last 5 days have done it. As well as speaking to 3 different people I also emailed your comments@avis address to no avail. My pickup is in two days time.

    Either you have so many complaints to deal with that there is a hugebacklog or you do not care about your customers. The last person I spoke to today confirmed to me that he would ensure that the confirmation email would arrive within 30 minutes of my conversation with him. That was at midday and it is now 5.00pm.

    I came over to you from probably your number 1 competitor and although I had problems with them they were never this bad.

    I fully expect this comment to go into the Avis black hole that is your customer services department.

  48. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Shan,

    Thank you for you blog comment and I apologise for the delayed response. I am sorry to hear of your frustration with Avis.

    I am not sure what happened to the email you sent to as this is not in the email inbox. Also, I am shocked that you have not received the confirmation email after it has been sent to you a few times. It could be the case that your email account does not recognise Avis as an email provider and has put it into your junk mail.

    If you send me your booking reference I can look into this for you and I will email you back with a copied version of your booking reference.

    Please could you email me again at with your initial email, but also with the number you have called and if you have them the names of the people you spoke to and I will follow this up with the relevant teams,

    If you have any other questions or feedback please let me know.


  49. Philip Gardner Says:

    CUSTOMERS BEWARE!!!! I had a hire car from avis and made the mistake of politely informing them of possible very slight and insignificant scuffing to the rim of the front plastic valance.This is because when parking the car the valance came into contact with the curb,I could not see any damage on inspection.Surely if there is a small scuff,you would need to get underneath the car to see it and is,nt this why the cars are fitted with a valance.As an audible warning to the driver to prevent damage to paintwork.I am being charged £248 plus vat for a possible slight scuff on the rim of a plastic valance.Funny that the damage excess is £250 and all this for something that if I had’nt reported,they doubtless would have even discovered.

  50. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Phillip,

    Thank you for your comment and I am sorry to hear that you are upset with Avis.

    If you email me at with your rental agreement number and details of your rental I will look into this for you.


Leave a Comment


WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing

Please note:

The details of all blog posts are correct at the time of publication. Information and offers are subject to change without prior notice. Please check for the most up-to-date information.

All comments will be moderated so there may be a delay in your comment going live. We will filter out anything that is confidential, inappropriate, abusive, defamatory, profane, or anything considered as spam or an advertising link. We promise not to cut something just because it's not favourable to Avis.

We ask that if your feedback is regarding a past rental, you include your reservation details (which will be removed from the live post). If your comment is a customer service issue, you can email .
book a car

Why we love to blog

At Avis, we really do try harder. We pioneered blogging in the car rental world and we aim to make our blog much more than just an information source. You can use our blog to ask questions or tell us what’s important to you when you hire a car. We try harder because we care what you think, so we really do value your feedback.

New to car rentals? Our blog gives you tips and advice on getting the most out of your Avis car hire experience. You can find information about booking and hiring your car, safety tips, and eco driving. We also provide driving advice and the latest news about our fleet.

We understand that hiring a car is just one part of your trip, so our blog covers other aspects of holiday and business travel too. Whether you want to know more about business travel hire conditions, access to location and city guides or ideas for families travelling with children, it’s all here.

But that’s just a taster – find out more about the Avis blog.