We’ve been listening to your feedback about offering our Avis Home Delivery service in London and I am really excited to announce we will be rolling out the service to the West London area! We will be open for reservations from 1st July and some of the areas we will be delivering to include West Brompton, Chiswick, Fulham, Hammersmith, Kensington and Notting Hill to name a few.

For full information on Home Delivery or to book this service go to www.avis.co.uk/homedelivery (where you can use the postcode search to confirm we deliver to your area) or call our reservations team on 0844 581 8181.

It would be great to hear what you think about our expansion of this service into London.

VN:F [1.9.8_1114]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
m4s0n501
Click for the latest avis.co.uk offers

24 Responses to “Avis Home Delivery comes to London from 1st July 2010!”

  1. Adrian Clarke Says:

    Having just had a bad experience with AVIS and not getting any success in trying to complain, I will use other car hire companies in future.

  2. Maarten van den Belt Says:

    I am surprised that on the new site no question is asked if the customer is a preferred Avis customer.

    It does however ask for an AWB number who frankly speaking no customer will know.

    Does this mean that no particular value is added to the Preferred Avis customer or is there a separate site for these kind of customers ?

  3. philip medhurst Says:

    Well folks a major inprovement on the former rather confusing site BUT dear oh dear spare a thought for “the oldies”. Opening page font size is ridiculously small even with my best reading glasses on. Is it that the sponser and designer are in their mid to late twenties and have 20/20 vision?

    Regards

    Phil Medhurst

  4. Pat Murphy-O'Connor Says:

    A little complaint – I am a very regular user of Avis cars. I object to paying the agreed fee upfront and then being charged in arrears for any rate of exchange discrepancy. What is the point of paying upfront on this basis ?
    This is only ever a relatively small amount but always irritating.
    Any comments ?
    Thanks

  5. des Says:

    I think that avis are a great company and i recommend them to people. The website is better and more simpler to use. The only down side i have with Avis is the fuel deposit. If you pay a deposit on anything else where that deposit is returned either immediatly or within 24hrs, it seems on my past hires i have had to wait up to 2 weeks for this to be returned. If i was a disloyal customer i would have gone else where and not recomended this company, but the prices are great the service is great and the small issue with the fuel deposit is the only downfall, i think they need to get this sorted or they will loss custom.

    des

  6. Fran Says:

    Haven’t got time to look at the new website right now but after 5 failed attempts to book a car over the last year (on the ‘old’ site) and 2 emails to Avis, neither of which were replied to, hopefully the new one will at least work.

  7. Robert Says:

    Well done on extending the home delivery service to London!
    Well West London but its a good start… :)

  8. Martin Riddett Says:

    I tried for half an hour to make a booking and could not manage it. I think you have a problem.

  9. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Adrian,

    I am sorry to hear of your frustrations with Avis.

    If you email me at comments@avis.co.uk with your rental agreement number and the details of your complaint I will follow this up with customer services.

    Also, if you have any other questions please let me know.

    Vicki

  10. Sara Bergamo- Avis UK Says:

    Hi Marteen,

    If you are referring to the new generic website, the Preferred/Online account sign in has now been moved on the top right corner of the screen, just above the big banner.

    If you click on the Sign in link, the section will expand and you will be able to log on either using your online account or your Preferred details.

    On the Home Delivery website however the option to sign in as a Preferred customer is currently not available.

    Hope this helps but please let us know if you have any difficulties in signing in.

    Many thanks
    Sara

  11. Sara Bergamo- Avis UK Says:

    Hi Philip,

    Glad you like the new website. With regards to your issue with the font being too small, I will forward the comment to our web designer and although I cannot promise that we will be able to fix it in the short term, we will definitely give it a go!

    In the meantime, not sure if you’ve already tried that and if it could be of help, but you could use the setting on your browser to increase the size of the text. If you are using Internet Explorer, on the top navigation menu, click on view, then text size and select Largest. Other browsers have similar settings as well.

    Many thanks for taking the time to send your feedback

    Sara

  12. Sara Bergamo- Avis UK Says:

    Hi Fran,

    sorry to hear about the issues with the previous website. I hope you will give the new website and Avis another chance when it comes to book your next rental.

    With regards to the two emails not having been answered, if you could send me more details at comments@avis.co.uk, I will be happy to look into this.

    Many thanks
    Sara

  13. Sara Bergamo- Avis UK Says:

    Hi Martin,

    Sorry to hear about the issues with your booking. If you could send us an email at comments@avis.co.uk with more details about your rental, we will take a look at it and get one of our reservation agents to get in touch and assist you.

    many thanks
    Sara

  14. Sara Bergamo- Avis UK Says:

    Hi Des,

    thanks for your feedback on the website, glad you like it. With regards to your issue with the fuel deposit, I’ve forwarded it to a colleague who has more experience on this area and she’ll post an answer as soon as possible.

    many thanks
    Sara

  15. Vicki Wilson - Avis UK Says:

    Hi Pat,

    Thanks for your comment.

    Please can you send an email for the attantion for myself to comments@avis.co.uk with the rental agreement number and details of the rentals where this has happened so I can look into this for you. As this is not really my area of knowledge I cannot comment until I have looked into this further.

    If you have any other questions please let me know.

    Vicki

  16. Vicki Wilson - Avis UK Says:

    Hi Des,

    Thank you for your comment and I am sorry for the late response. This is not an area that I cover so I have had to look into this for you.

    At the start of the rental we obtain authorisation for the estimated rental charges, if the customer has prepaid their rental then the authorisation is for a tank of fuel. Then if the car is returned with a full tank of fuel, and there are no further charges to pay, we send an authorisation reversal request to the card issuing bank. After we have made this reversal it is then up to the card issuer to remove the original authorisation from the renter’s account.

    However we have found that this does not always happen and customers have to wait until the authorisation “drops” off which usually takes about 10 days. If a customer does need to have an excess authorisation removed, you can write to our customer service team (address below) and we will fax your bank to request that the authorisation is reversed. But this is still relying on the bank to action something we have requested.

    Avis UK Customer Service Team,
    Avis House
    Park Road
    Bracknell
    Berks
    RG12 2EW

    I hope this helps, but if you have any other questions please let us know.

    Vicki

  17. Trevor Smith Says:

    I prepaid for a renatal car in Malta thinking I had paid for the full cost of the car at £211.86 for 11 days.
    Service at Malta was non existant, the car was a mess with scratches all over it, stained seats and smelly air con.
    Arriving back home I find I have been charged another 108 euro for whats listed as windscreen cover?
    After 3 weeks I have heard nothing from Avis re my complaint.
    Use Avis at your peril.
    IWILL NOT BE USING THEM AGAIN AND TELLING EVERYONE I KNOW ABOUT THER SHADY PRACTICES

  18. Vicki Wilson - Avis UK Says:

    Hi Trevor,

    I am sorry to hear about your upset and frustrations with Avis.

    Please can you email me at comments@avis.co.uk with your rental agreement number, details of your rental and any other information you feel useful. I will then look into this for you and follow up with our customer service team.

    If you have any other questions please let me know.

    Vicki

  19. derek houslex Says:

    I have sent repeated complaints to Avis about being overcharged for insurance at Munich Airport avis office. But my emails get no response, and the promised replies to my telephone calls never materialized! I have escalated my complaint and a reply was promised within 3 days! surprise surprise still no reply.

    At the time of the orginal booking and when picking up the car, i made it clear that i did not require any additional insurance Avis contrary to my repeatedinstructions and the sales of goods Act, feel the need to add insurance that i already have! So have repeated complaints, i feel that i have no option to let the small claims courts decide.

    In line with my previous emails i have no expectation of a reply. But feel aggrieved that i can be treated in such a shabby way.

    Yours Derek Housley / houslex

  20. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Derek,

    Thank you for your blog comment and I am sorry to hear that you are upset with Avis.

    I am afraid I cannot help you and follow up your comment with our customer service team without you rental agreement number. If you could email this to me at comments@avis.co.uk as well as the details of your rental I will look into this for you.

    If you have any other questions please let me know in your email.

    Thanks
    Vicki

  21. Richie Says:

    Avis staff are terrible!
    When my hire car was dropped off I paid a £70 fuel deposit. I told the driver that I had no bank account and I needed cash back (also said I did not want the car if I couldn’t get cash), he said that fine so I asked him to put that in writing (which he did on the rental agreement)
    Upon collection I was told a cheque would be sent out (no use to me with no bank account)
    I spoke to the branch manager who told me I was lying and there was nothing on the rental agreement.
    I then called customer complaints to be told its a cheque or nothing!
    Called customer complaints again to ask for a copy of the rental agreement to be told it clearly says “Mr Milligan has no bank account and requires cash back”
    Weeks later I am still fighting to get my cash back.

    DO NOT TRUST AVIS!

  22. Sabrina, Marketing UK Says:

    Hi Richie-
    Sorry to hear you’ve had a poor experience with us.

    Could you please confirm your rental agreement number so we can ask our customer service team to investigate?

    Thanks
    Sabrina

  23. Richie Says:

    Rental agreement number is 105103062

  24. Sabrina, Marketing UK Says:

    Thanks Richie- I understand our customer service team have been in touch so I hope this has now been resolved.

Leave a Comment

 

WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing


Please note:

The details of all blog posts are correct at the time of publication. Information and offers are subject to change without prior notice. Please check www.avis.co.uk for the most up-to-date information.

All comments will be moderated so there may be a delay in your comment going live. We will filter out anything that is confidential, inappropriate, abusive, defamatory, profane, or anything considered as spam or an advertising link. We promise not to cut something just because it's not favourable to Avis.

We ask that if your feedback is regarding a past rental, you include your reservation details (which will be removed from the live post). If your comment is a customer service issue, you can email customer.service@avis.co.uk .
book a car

Why we love to blog

At Avis, we really do try harder. We pioneered blogging in the car rental world and we aim to make our blog much more than just an information source. You can use our blog to ask questions or tell us what’s important to you when you hire a car. We try harder because we care what you think, so we really do value your feedback.

New to car rentals? Our blog gives you tips and advice on getting the most out of your Avis car hire experience. You can find information about booking and hiring your car, safety tips, and eco driving. We also provide driving advice and the latest news about our fleet.

We understand that hiring a car is just one part of your trip, so our blog covers other aspects of holiday and business travel too. Whether you want to know more about business travel hire conditions, access to location and city guides or ideas for families travelling with children, it’s all here.

But that’s just a taster – find out more about the Avis blog.