At Avis we not only try harder to provide you with a car hire service that offers you a great, reliable vehicle for your needs but we also aim to deliver that with a helpful and extremely friendly service.

Unfortunately on occasions, things can go wrong and you may need to contact our Customer Service department. This blog post aims to inform you on what you can expect if this situation arises.

If you have a question about your rental, you should first visit our FAQ section on www.avis.co.uk. Here you will find a large number of commonly asked questions that have been asked by other customers and their corresponding answers. Looking here first may answer some of your common questions without the need to phone Customer Service.

At Avis our Customer Service Department deals with all queries and complaints from UK residents, not matter where in the world they rented, and if we cannot resolve them immediately we aim to contact the customer within:

  • 5 working days, for UK rentals
  • 15 working days, for foreign rentals *
  • 20 working days for issues with damage charges on foreign rentals *

* Where investigation with the foreign country is necessary.

If you feel you would like to talk to our Customer Service department please email: customer.service@avis.co.uk

VN:F [1.9.8_1114]
Rating: 1.0/10 (1 vote cast)
Avis commitment to Customer Service, 1.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating
m4s0n501
Click for the latest avis.co.uk offers

32 Responses to “Avis commitment to Customer Service”

  1. bill allen Says:

    your website is useless if you just want to find out how much a car costs for a week.

    That should be the primary piece of info for me to get to. But it’s buried under your froth somewhere.

    I shouldn’t have to wade through all your corporate communication bullshit to the point that I am so annoyed that I’m trying the competition.

    I’m sure you think you’re great and that I have the problem. Good luck.

  2. Sara Bergamo, Marketing UK Says:

    Hi Bill,

    Sorry to hear about the problems you had with the website. I’m not really clear on when you encountered the problem or what information you found annoying but if you could send us more details I’d be happy to look into it. Trust me we don’t think the website is perfect and we often use feedback from this blog to drive changes, so your feedback is more than welcome.

    Just as a general thing to check the price of a car all you have to do is visit the Home Page, select the dates and location you wish to pick up your car from, click on the “Get a quote” button and you will be given the list of prices by car group.

    Hope to hear back from you,
    thanks
    Sara

  3. claire dench Says:

    I had a car which was paid for by my debit card. Booking ref [Booking ref number]. I have been overcharged – 4 days rental and collision damage waiver, super pai, windscreen etc instead of 3. Even though I asked Staines office to rectify and refund me the difference, more than a week ago, this hasn’t occured. This amounts to stealing in my book.

  4. Ross McNIcol Says:

    It is now 5 weeks since I contacted Avis about an unacceptable situation and whilst I appreciate you made contact by saying ‘thank you for your enquiry’ I do not have any response to the problem.

    Your website says two things which have proved to be plain false.

    1 That a response to an enquiry about foreign rentals even with damage take max 20 working days. I have waited 5 weeks.

    Secondly it quotes ‘Many customers fear that they will be stung for extra charges retrospectively. This receipt is a guarantee that this will not happen.’

    Yet we were as I say charged retrospectively much more than was agreed and after the cars had been signed off with full fuel tanks etc.

    An amount was charged to my card – without my knowledge and after the fact- is far beyond what I should have since both cars I hired were signed off as having no problems, the fuel tanks were full and I took no optional extras. The only charge that should have been made was the €150 extra for a bigger car that was detailed to me by the Avis representative at the airport and with whom I took ages to check every circumstance under which I might be charged more- none of which applied to us.

    Please make it a priority to respond to me. I can’t imagine this case poses Avis with any particularly difficult fact-finding. It is surely one phone call to your colleagues in Bari. If it is more complicated please could you let me know why? It comes across as a very shady way of dealing with customers to take money from them without telling them first why and what for. Indeed without explanation it appears only as theft.

  5. ryan Says:

    I like to feedback on the totally unpleasant experience so that other customers of AVIS may be made aware.

    You may not publish it here, but i’ll make it available elsewhere anyway if I do not get a response here.

    This booking was through the kind help of Maxiema Lager but thoroughly spoilt by the Earl’s Court offering and the subsequent handling by Mr. Ivstan.

    Background – I rented a large automatic sedan (can fit 3 pieces of luggage) and was informed of the type of cars specifically to Jetta, Passat and Insignia available in the category I Booked.
    However, when i was about to get my car during my recent UK trip, the Earl’s Court station gave me a BMW120i and told me that this car was correct and it could also fit 3 pieces of luggage. I was told that no other car is available and take it or leave it. Given that my needs for travelling was for 2 kids with my spouse, I was forced to upgrade since AVIS gave me such a shocker.

    When i wrote in to customer service to complain about this matter, they denied repeatedly that the BMW120i was wrongly assigned.
    However when i produced evidence from AVIS website showing that the BMW120i indeed is a different car only able to hold 2 pieces of luggage, I am told that too bad, AVIS cannot offer the correct car and in these instances, I was expected to negotiate with the Earl Court’s station instead of taking an upgrade.

    How can AVIS treat the customer this way?

    An error was made and the error and burden was put on the customer.

    Additionally, customer service kept insisting that they were right to assign BMW120i, despite AVIS own staff who handled our booking confirmed in writing that the BMW120i was not the correct car to have been issued.

    I am thoroughly disappointed in AVIS and have told all my friends and acquaintances to steer clear of AVIS.

    I actually hope to get some Customer Service through here, since there was none that the Customer.Service@Avis.co.uk can provide.

  6. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Claire,

    Thank you for you comment.
    This has been passed onto our customer service team and someone will contact you.

    Vicki

  7. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Ryan,

    Thank you for your comment and I apologise for the delayed response.

    If you could email me at comments@avis.co.uk with the details of your rental and your rental agreement number I will look into this for you.

    If you have any other questions or feedback please let me know.

    Thanks
    Vicki

  8. Himanshu Das Says:

    It is impossible to get to your call center number and no one bothers to reply to e-mails. I have already lodged this complaint once by calling and I was promised a callback in 3-5 days. One month has passed and I am still waiting.

    I rented a car from you for 28/08/10 – 31/08/10. Rental Agreement Number [Rental Agreement Number]. Vehicle Blu Ford Focus. I had booked this for £54.23 online. When I went to collect the car, I saw that the exess has been reduced, and I specifically asked if that meant any extra charges. I was told, and I am quoting here, “No extra charge, its all included in your booking”. So I was surprised when I recieved a bill for £52.49 for remaining charges which has been charged to my credit card.

    This is absolutely unacceptable. I had no intention of taking additional insurance, I always take third party insurance for excess protection. I can provide you with proof of my third party isnurance for excess protection that I had already taken. So this charge of £52.49 is absolutely fradulent, as far as I am concerned.

    I feel so cheated. I am not sure whether posting it here is any useful but if this is not addressed by this weekend, I am going to post this all across internet wherever there is any facility of leaving a feedback for Avis. At least other customers will be forewarned.

  9. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Himanshu

    Thank you for your comment and I am sorry to hear of your upset with Avis.

    You comment has been passed on in full to our customer service team, where someone will look into this and get back to you.

    If you have any other questions please email me at comments@avis.co.uk or please call our customer service team on 0844 544 6666.

    Vicki

  10. Adam Sanders Says:

    I rented a car and a sat nav in Spain last week for a long weekend. The car had not only not been cleaned properly, but was littered with faults (wouldn’t even lock). The sat nav’s battery was dead and wouldn’t charge. In the end it turned out to be a fault with the car’s cigarette lighter.

    It took me 5 hours to get to my destination, so I missed my evening and getting to get at 4am meant my Saturday morning was wiped out. Without a sat nav I lost my Monday morning and left for the airport early – so I effectively lost half of my holiday because you hired out a faulty car and a non-charged sat nav.

    I made a complaint with the rental desk and was told they’d get back to me – they didn’t. They said they knew about the problems with the car.

    I called Avis customer services on Tuesday and spoke to someone who basically couldn’t have cared less. He told me I’d get an update within ’15 working days’ – an update is not acceptable – sorry!

    I have been promised numerous phone calls back and just got hung up on by some woman after she *refused* to give out an address for me to write to.

    I feel totally let down by Avis – this is certainly not ‘we try harder’. I’ve been a renting expensive cars from you for years and this one experience has totally destroyed my opinion of your values.

    If someone can’t get hold of this issue and give me reassurance that it will be resolved professionally and done quickly without wasting more of my time I’ll pass it on to my legal department where it’ll be far more drawn out and be more expensive for you than if you’d just done the right thing first time.

    I really do feel very let down.

    Adam

  11. Stephen Ashcroft Says:

    Despite the promise that customer support would be in touch with me within 15 days of my complaint I have heard nothing. I have today submitted a second request for my complaint to be investigated. I rented a car from you for 1 day in Italy on the 29th September. The price quoted to me on line was £84.39 but my credit card was subsequently debited with £134,19. I have received no invoice that might explain this discrepancy nor, as I say, have I had any answer to my request for clarification. This is very poor customer service – I feel I have been over-charged but can apparently get no satisfactory response from Avis.

  12. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Stephen,

    Thank you for your comment and I am sorry to hear of your frustrations with Avis.

    Please can you email me at comments@avis.co.uk with the details of your rental and your rental agreement number. I will look into this and follow it up with our customer service team.

    If you have any other questions please let me know.

    Vicki

  13. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Adam,

    I am sorry to hear of your bad experience with Avis.

    Please can you email me at comments@avis.co.uk with the details of your rental and your rental agreement number. I will look into your case for you and will follow this up with the customer service team.

    If you have any other questions or feedback please let me know.

    Vicki

  14. Rodger van Zyl - Marketing Avis UK Says:

    Hi Ross,

    Thank you for your comment and I apologise for the delay in responding to you.

    I’m really sorry to hear about your frustration with the service you received from Avis.

    Please email me at comments@avis.co.uk with your rental agreement number, details of your rental and your query.

    When I receive this I will look into this for you and follow it up with our Customer Service and Damage teams.

    If you have any other question please let me know in your email.

    Rodger

  15. Tony Arrowsmith Says:

    I have had Case No 207037695 outstanding with the’FOREIGN DAMAGE DEPARTMENT’ of Customer Services since the 13th September 2010.

    I have had no written reply to any of my letters nor has my Lawyer.

    Please comment

  16. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Tony,

    Thanks for your comment.

    This is being looked into and someone will get back to you soon.

    Thanks
    Vicki

  17. Robert Lowman Says:

    You are not trying hard enough!
    On a recnt trip to the UK I rented a vehicle at Heathrow. The rental was for ten days, but after three I was called since the rental had apparently been cancelled. Your representative assured me this was an error and would be corrected. However I was still immediately billed for the full period at a higher than quoted price.
    Efforts to rememdy this while still in the UK were unsucessful. When we returned the car we were billed again but assured the earlier amount would be credited back to us. This took three weeks and furter complaints to accomplish, by which time changes in the exchange rates left us out of pocket.
    All of this inconvenience resulted from your original error! You were very quick to take our money, not so fast to pay it back.
    we have not recieved any apology or considertaion for your company’s poor performance. I have used your competitors before without sny issues. robalby do so on my next trip.

  18. Vicki Wilson - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hi Robert,

    Thank you for your comment and I am sorry to hear of your frustrations with Avis and the mix up with your rental.

    Please can you email me at comments@avis.co.uk with your rental agreement number so I can look into your complaint.

    Vicki

  19. Amir Qureshy Says:

    Ref:4869-9739-GB-4

    This is the worst customer service I have ever encountered. I do not usually complain but feel it is essential in this case. I was advised to contact your billing department to obtain my refund but it is impossible to get through. I have emailed on numerous occassions only to receive an automated response. It has been nearly two weeks now and I cannot engage with anyone to take responsibility nor acknowledge my concerns. This is very, very frustrating and I would like to escalate the matter but there is no one you can contact? The amount in question is £405+ !!!

  20. Rodger van Zyl - Marketing, Avis UK Says:

    Hello Amir,

    Please accept my apologies for the issues you’re experiencing.

    I have sent your details onto our customer service department who will contact you directly, and help to resolve your issue.

    Regards
    Rodger – Marketing

  21. Amir Qureshy Says:

    Thankyou Rodger.

    As of 5.30pm today I still have heard nothing and it is now the weekend?

    Amir

  22. Rodger - Marketing Says:

    Hello Amir,

    I can assure you that your query is currently been looked into and you’ll receive an email from our customer service department detailing the outcome of the investigation.

    Apologies for any inconvenience this has caused.

    Regards,
    Rodger

  23. Keith Dawson Says:

    Over on the Driving Tips and Safety page I asked for help in resolving an issue with being given a car of a lower group than that indicated by the reservation contract, and was also deemed not in a condition fit for rental on its return. I had already waited a week for your “customer service” to respond before writing to:
    http://www.avis.co.uk/blog/driving-tired/#comments

    After sending the info requested by Sabrina to comments@avis.co.uk
    I have been waiting two more weeks without any response at all.
    Tell me, where is the commitment to customer service? I have not seen any!

  24. Sabrina, Marketing Says:

    Hi Keith –
    I’m so sorry for the delay!
    I have chased our customer service team on this so they should be in touch with you shortly.

    Thanks
    Sabrina

  25. Rob Says:

    Disspointed in AVIS charging me £25 (excl VAT) administration fee in respect of a penalty charge notice (London congestion charge). Difficult to understand how this can be more than 5 minutes of internal staff time to process, including a standard letter (template no doubt) and postage. Feels like opportunitic charging to me. Will try avoid using AVIS where possible in the future.

  26. LWilkinson Says:

    Hi Rob – we’re sorry you were unfortunate enough to receive a penalty charge notice. As the owner of the rental car, we are obliged to provide the authorities with information as to whom the liability for this fine is to be transferred to and full details of the fine will be sent to our customers directly by the authorities. We do not settle the cost of the fine on their behalf, however, we do apply an administration fee for each fine handled by us. There is a cost involved in the transferring of fines from Avis to the customers’ names, and there is also a cost in terms of staff hours used in the administration of these fines. Our fines are in line with our competitors and are regularly examined to ensure that our fees remain competitive and fair. The administration fees serve a secondary purpose of acting as a deterrent to drivers. I hope this clarifies things.

  27. David Ansong Says:

    Annoyed at AVIS sending me a £25 (excl VAT) administration invoice in respect of . . . NOTHING!!!
    I wasn’t even driving the car at the time and a Penalty Charge Notice was sent to me. Thankfully my Car Rental Contract has provided a water tight alibi, but I’m annoyed that if I hadnt double checked I would have paid a £90.00 Traffic Offence fine and £25.00 admin fee all because an Avis guy was driving the car at the the time and their administration is shockingly poor! Looking forward to a prompt reply and compensation. Or perhaps just transfering my business elsewhere! Must try harder Avis!

  28. Sabrina, Marketing Says:

    Hi David-
    Sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience.
    Could you email us with your reservation details to comments@avis.co.uk so we can investigate what happened and avoid this happening again in future?

    Thanks
    Sabrina

  29. Lisa O'Dwyer Says:

    I have been trying to get a response from Avis for over 27 days. I have emailed over 5 times and tried to speak to someone over the phone all to no avial. I am a new customer to Avis, as you are recomended on the BA website. I joined Avis preferred and still the customer service is woeful. i nthink this will be my first and last rental with Avis. As i have been trying to get a response to something very simple for far too long.

  30. Sabrina, Marketing Says:

    Hi Lisa-
    Sorry to hear about this.

    Could you please email your reservation details to comments@avis.co.uk (along with the intial email) and I shall ask our customer service team to look into it for you.

    Thanks
    Sabrina

  31. myles edwards Says:

    For some reason my comments are no longer on this page so I will put them back on these were posted 28/09/12:

    Hello Ive just received an extra charge of £133.75 on my credit card when I initially paid you £159.61 through Monarch when we booked our flights to Portugal.

    The hire dates were 15/09/12 to 22/09/12 before signing the agreement at Faro airport I asked if there were any aditional charges and was told that there would be an automatic toll charge (which I acccepted) and if I did not refuel (£100 charge). We brought back the vehicle (re-fueled) which was signed off and I was told no extra charge.

    We were happy with the service and the car BUT this has put a real dampner on things. This is the first car I have rented and was warned about scams so quite rightly I went with AVIS because of your name and reputation.

    The quote you give should include everything and £159.61 was at the end of our budget. Because of this recent charge the car hire has cost £293.36??

    To top it all off on 08/09/12 Avis took a further £16-01 what for I havnt got a clue as there is no invoice???

    Can you stop taking my money and sort this matter out as soon as possible Im still waiting for your response 19 days later

    Regards

  32. Claire Says:

    Hello Myles, could you give me your booking ref please and I’ll look into these charges for you.

Leave a Comment

 

WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing


Please note:

The details of all blog posts are correct at the time of publication. Information and offers are subject to change without prior notice. Please check www.avis.co.uk for the most up-to-date information.

All comments will be moderated so there may be a delay in your comment going live. We will filter out anything that is confidential, inappropriate, abusive, defamatory, profane, or anything considered as spam or an advertising link. We promise not to cut something just because it's not favourable to Avis.

We ask that if your feedback is regarding a past rental, you include your reservation details (which will be removed from the live post). If your comment is a customer service issue, you can email customer.service@avis.co.uk .
book a car

Why we love to blog

At Avis, we really do try harder. We pioneered blogging in the car rental world and we aim to make our blog much more than just an information source. You can use our blog to ask questions or tell us what’s important to you when you hire a car. We try harder because we care what you think, so we really do value your feedback.

New to car rentals? Our blog gives you tips and advice on getting the most out of your Avis car hire experience. You can find information about booking and hiring your car, safety tips, and eco driving. We also provide driving advice and the latest news about our fleet.

We understand that hiring a car is just one part of your trip, so our blog covers other aspects of holiday and business travel too. Whether you want to know more about business travel hire conditions, access to location and city guides or ideas for families travelling with children, it’s all here.

But that’s just a taster – find out more about the Avis blog.